The Frist Art Museum’s eighth biennial Young Tennessee Artists exhibition showcased some of the finest artwork by high school students across the state. Students in Advanced Placement (AP) and International Baccalaureate (IB) studio art programs during the 2019–20 academic year were invited to submit their work to this exhibition. After reviewing more than three hundred entries from students in private and public schools, the jurors selected works by thirty-six students.

Upper-level studio art courses make it possible for highly motivated students to build and refine their portfolios through ongoing investigation, practice, and reflection. The dedicated teachers in AP and IB programs challenge their students’ artistic perceptions and encourage them to develop aesthetic methods, both conceptually and in execution. At the end of the school year, each student’s portfolio is reviewed by AP or IB examiners. Students may subsequently receive college course credit or other recognition of their accomplishments. In 2020, the end of the school year and the art submission deadline occurred in the midst of a global pandemic, adding extra challenges for the students.

This exhibition illuminated their skillful synthesis of form, technique, and content. The array and quality of work demonstrated the growing sophistication and diversity of experiences within the AP and IB studio art programs across Tennessee.

The artists whose work was selected for this exhibition:

Tiana Aldroubi
Parker Bowling
Luke Boyer
Belinda Brooks
Walker Byrd
Grace Clement
Hayley Collins
Ike Cravens
Nadine Duessler
Rebekah Dumont
Madison Eddins
Caroline Frederiksen
Kayla Gore
John Graham
Amelia Hausmann
Madeline Kerr
Fletcher Lance
Mylan Le

Enzo Lederer-Morihisa
Ellie Meyers
Rachel Mikkola
Bella Orozco
William Payne
Maya Risch
Eden Sekwat
Madelyn Simcoe
Sarah Katherine Steen
Ashton Terrell
Anna Rose Thomas
Quinn Trabue
Austin Vaughan
Breanna Webb
Alyssa Williams
Clay Williams
Riyung Yun
Justin Zhu

We would like to acknowledge and thank the selection committee:
• Beizar Aradini, artist, Nashville
• Trinita Kennedy, curator, Frist Art Museum
• Paul Lee, professor of photography, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
• Carl Moore, artist, Memphis

The Frist Art Museum gratefully acknowledges the generosity of our O’Keeffe Circle members in funding this exhibition:

Judy and Joe Barker
Patricia Frist Elcan and Charles A. Elcan
Jennifer and Billy Frist
Julie and Tommy Frist
Patricia C. Frist and Thomas F. Frist, Jr., MD
R. Milton and Denice Johnson
Lynn and Ken Melkus
Sid and Linda Pilson
Delphine and Ken Roberts
Anne and Joe Russell
Mr. and Mrs. James C. Seabury III
Olivia L. Tyson

This list is current as of August 10, 2020.

Supported in part by

Moseley Foundation logo
Ryman Hospitality Logo

Organized by Shaun Giles, Frist Art Museum community engagement director

Advanced Placement is a registered trademark of the College Board. International Baccalaureate is a registered trademark of the IB Organization. The institutions were not involved in the production of and do not endorse this exhibition.

All artworks appear courtesy of the artists, who retain the copyright to their work.

Exhibition gallery

Please consider supporting the Frist Art Museum with a donation. Your gift is essential to our mission of serving the community through the arts and art access in particular. We truly appreciate your generosity.