Section 1: April 11–25, 2013
Section 2: May 2–16, 2013

Created as an opportunity to recognize the artistic accomplishments of Metro Nashville Public School students, Mayor Phil Bredesen launched the Mayor’s Art Show during his term in the 1990s. The Frist Art Museum began hosting this annual art show in 2004 during Mayor Bill Purcell’s term and is continuing the tradition with Mayor Karl Dean.

The 2013 Mayor’s Art Show is composed of two sections. This exhibition, in its tenth year at the Frist Art Museum, will feature works by students from a total of sixty four schools in our Upper-Level Education Corridor. From April 11–25, the first show will feature works by students from thirty-one schools from seven clusters—Antioch, Cane Ridge, Glencliff, Hillsboro, Hunters Lane, Pearl-Cohn, and Stratford. From May 2–16, the second show will feature works by students from thirty-four schools in six clusters—Hillwood, Maplewood, McGavock, Overton, and Whites Creek.

Art teachers in each school were able to select two works per grade level for inclusion in the exhibition. The variety of images and subject matter reflects the diverse backgrounds and ideas of Metro schoolchildren.

Participating Schools in Section One:

Elementary Schools
Amqui Elementary
A. Z. Kelley Elementary
Cane Ridge Elementary
Cockrill Elementary
Cole Elementary
Glencliff Elementary
Glendale Elementary
Glengarry Elementary
Goodlettsville Elementary
Inglewood Elementary School
J.E. Moss Elementary
Lakeview Design Center
Lockeland Design Center
Maxwell Elementary
Mt. View Elementary
Neely’s Bend Elementary
Paragon Mills Elementary
Percy Priest Elementary
Rosebank Elementary
Ross Elementary
Stratton Elementary
Sylvan Park Paideia Design Center

Middle Schools
East Nashville Magnet Middle
Goodlettsville Middle
John Early Museum Magnet Middle
Meigs Academic Magnet Middle
West End Middle School

High Schools
Antioch High
Cane Ridge High
Hume-Fogg Magnet High School
Nashville School of the Arts

Participating Schools in Section Two:

Elementary Schools
Andrew Jackson Elementary
Crieve Hall Elementary
Cumberland Elementary
Chadwell Elementary
Dan Mills Elementary
Dodson Elementary
DuPont Elementary
Granbery Elementary
Hattie Cotton Elementary
Harpeth Valley Elementary
Haywood Elementary
Hermitage Elementary
Hickman Elementary
I. T. Creswell Elementary
Joelton Elementary
McGavock Elementary
Pennington Elementary
Robert E. Lillard Elementary
Ruby Major Elementary
Shayne Elementary
Tulip Grove Elementary
Tom Joy Elementary
Una Elementary

Middle Schools
Bellevue Middle
Croft Middle
Du Pont Hadley Middle
Donelson Middle
Gra-Mar Middle
H. G. Hill Middle
Rose Park Math & Science Magnet Middle
Joelton Middle

High Schools
Hillsboro High
McGavock High
Stratford High

Presenting Sponsor: Macy’s

Please consider supporting the Frist Art Museum with a donation. Your gift is essential to our mission of serving the community through the arts and art access in particular. We truly appreciate your generosity.