October 9, 2020–February 7, 2021

2020 Young Tennessee Artists: Selections from Advanced Studio Art Programs

Online exhibition

  • Madison Eddins. Surroundings, 2020. Oil paint on board, 9 x 12 in.

The Frist Art Museum’s eighth biennial Young Tennessee Artists exhibition showcases some of the finest two-dimensional artwork by high school students across the state. Students in Advanced Placement (AP) and International Baccalaureate (IB) studio art programs during the 2019–20 academic year were invited to submit their work to this exhibition. After reviewing more than three hundred entries from students in private and public schools, the jurors selected works by thirty-six students.

Upper-level studio art courses make it possible for highly motivated students to build and refine their portfolios through ongoing investigation, practice, and reflection. The dedicated teachers in AP and IB programs challenge their students’ artistic perceptions and encourage them to develop aesthetic methods, both conceptually and in execution. At the end of the school year, each student’s portfolio is reviewed by AP or IB examiners. Students may subsequently receive college course credit or other recognition of their accomplishments.

This exhibition illuminates their skillful synthesis of form, technique, and content. The array and quality of work demonstrate the growing sophistication and diversity of experiences within the AP and IB studio art programs across Tennessee.

We would like to acknowledge and thank the selection committee:
Beizar Aradini, artist, Nashville
Trinita Kennedy, curator, Frist Art Museum
Paul Lee, professor, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Carl Moore, artist, Memphis

The artists whose work was selected for this exhibition:
Tiana Aldroubi
Parker Bowling
Luke Boyer
Belinda Brooks
Walker Byrd
Grace Clement
Hayley Collins
Ike Cravens
Nadine Duessler
Rebekah Dumont
Madison Eddins
Caroline Frederiksen
Kayla Gore
John Graham
Amellia Hausmann
Madeline Kerr
Fletcher Lance
Mylan Le
Enzo Lederer-Morihisa
Ellie Meyers
Rachel Mikkola
Bella Orozco
William Payne
Maya Risch
Eden Sekwat
Madelyn Simcoe
Sarah Katherine Steen
Ashton Terrell
Anna Rose Thomas
Quinn Trabue
Austin Vaughan
Breanna Webb
Alyssa Williams
Clay Williams
Rigyung Yun
Justin Zhu


Organized by Shaun Giles, Frist Art Museum assistant director for community engagement

The Frist Art Museum gratefully acknowledges the generosity of our O’Keeffe Circle members in funding this exhibition:

Judy and Joe Barker
Barbara and Jack Bovender
Richard and Judith Bracken
Patricia Frist Elcan and Charles A. Elcan
Jennifer and Billy Frist
Julie and Tommy Frist
Patricia C. Frist and Thomas F. Frist, Jr., MD
R. Milton and Denice Johnson
Lynn and Ken Melkus
Sid and Linda Pilson
Delphine and Ken Roberts
Anne and Joe Russell
Mr. and Mrs. James C. Seabury III
Olivia L. Tyson

List current as of May 13, 2020

This exhibition is supported in part by the Moseley Foundation and the Ryman Hospitality Properties Foundation.

Click here to go back to the top of the page

Sorry, this image is copyrighted