2006 Exhibition and Events Schedule

FRIST CENTER FOR THE VISUAL ARTS
Current 2006 Exhibition and Events Schedule

** Denotes exhibition opening or closing

March 2006

Wednesday, March 1
Pre-purchase tickets available to members for The Quest for Immortality:
Treasures of Ancient Egypt

Thursday, March 2
African Art: Strategies for Looking and Understanding
(AND March 17)
6:30 p.m., Auditorium, Free

African Video Series: Contemporary Artists Exploring Traditional Politics
(AND March 16, 30, April 13)
6:00 pm, Rechter Room, Free

Saturday, March 4
Kids Club: Think Inside the Box
(AND March 11, March 18, and March 25)
1:oop.m. – 2:30p.m.
Meet in the Art Library and Resource Center
Call 615-744-3357 for registration and details.

Friday, March 10
Films at the Frist: O Heroi (The Hero)
7:00 p.m., Auditorium, Free

Saturday, March 11
Adult Workshop: Landscape Painting
(AND Sunday, March 12)
Saturday 9:00am –4:00pm
Price: $75 members, $100 non-members (includes materials)
Call 615.744.3247 for required reservations.

Kids Club: Think Inside the Box
(AND March 18, and March 25)
1:oop.m. – 2:30p.m.
Meet in the Art Library and Resource Center
Call 615-744-3357 for registration and details.

Sunday, March 12
Collectors’ Perspective: The Good, the Bad, and the Decorative: Distinguishing African Art
2:00 p.m., Auditorium, Free

Adult Workshop: Landscape Painting
1:00pm –4:00pm
Price: $75 members, $100 non-members (includes materials)
Call 615.744.3247 for required reservations.

      **March 15 – 17, 2006
Mayor’s Art Show

Thursday, March 16
African Video Series: Contemporary Artists Exploring Traditional Politics
(AND March 30, April 13)
6:00 pm, Rechter Room- Free

Friday, March 17
African Art: Strategies for Looking and Understanding
6:30 p.m., Auditorium, Free

Saturday, March 18
Kids Club: Think Inside the Box
(AND March 25)
1:oop.m. – 2:30p.m.
Meet in the Art Library and Resource Center
Call 615-744-3357 for registration and details.

Monday, March 20 – Friday, March 24
Spring Break at The Frist! (Davidson County Schools)
FREE Programming and Studio Activities

Saturday, March 20
Kids Club: Think Inside the Box
(AND March 18, and March 25)
1:oop.m. – 2:30p.m.
Meet in the Art Library and Resource Center
Call 615-744-3357 for registration and details.

Monday, March 27 – Friday, March 31
Spring Break at The Frist! (Rutherford and Williamson County Schools)
FREE Programming and Studio Activities


April 2006

Saturday, April 1
Pre-purchase tickets available to general public for The Quest for Immortality:
Treasures of Ancient Egypt

        **Sunday, April 16
A Journey of Hope: Lost Boys of Sudan closes

        ** April 21 – October 8, 2006
Egypt timeline opens

Friday, April 28
Frist Friday
6:00 – 9:00 p.m.

        ** Sunday, April 30
The Splendid Palette: Painting in France from Monet to Bonnard closes
African Art, African Voices: Long Steps Never Broke a Back closes
Hamlett Dobbins: Early Morning Paintings closes
Beyond Sight: African Art Touch Gallery closes


May 2006

Friday, March 26
Frist Friday
6:00 – 9:00 p.m.


June 2006

Tuesday, June 6 –  Thursday 8
Member Previews: The Quest for Immortality: Treasures of Ancient Egypt

      **June 9 – October 8, 2006
The Quest for Immortality: Treasures of Ancient Egypt

      **Tuesday, June 11
Paths to Impressionism: French and American Landscape Paintings from the
Worcester Art Museum closes
Magnificent, Marvelous Martelé: American Art Nouveau Silver from the Robert
and Jolie Shelton Collection closes

Saturday, June 17
Egypt Gala

Monday, June 19 – Friday, June 23
Summer Camp at The Frist

Monday, June 26 – Friday, June 30
Summer Camp at The Frist

Thursday, June 29
Member Preview: The Pulitzer Prize Photographs: Capture the Moment

      **June 30 – August 20, 2006
The Pulitzer Prize Photographs: Capture the Moment

Friday, June 30
Frist Friday
6:00 – 9:00 p.m.


July 2006

Monday, July 10 – Friday, July 14
Summer Camp at The Frist

Monday, July 17 – Friday, July 21
Summer Camp at The Frist

Monday, July 24 – Friday, July 28
Summer Camp at The Frist

Friday, July 28
Frist Friday
6:00 – 9:00 p.m.


August 2006

        **Sunday, August 20
The Pulitzer Prize Photographs: Capture the Moment closes

Friday, August 25
Frist Friday
6:00 – 9:00 p.m.

September 2006

Thursday, September 14
Member Preview: Bedazzled: 5,000 Years of Jewelry from the
Walters Art Museum

      **September 16, 2006 – January 7, 2007
Bedazzled: 5,000 Years of Jewelry from the Walters Art Museum

Friday, September 29
Frist Friday
6:00 – 9:00 p.m.


October 2006

      **Sunday, October 8
The Quest for Immortality: Treasures of Ancient Egypt closes
Egypt Timeline closes

Friday, October 27
Frist Friday
6:00 – 9:00 p.m.


November 2006

      **November 10, 2006 – February 11, 2007
Extra-Ordinary
[Bob Trotman]


December 2006

TBA

 

 

 

 

 

Click here to go back to the top of the page

Sorry, this image is copyrighted