October 20, 2018–March 17, 2019

2018 Young Tennessee Artists: Selections from Advanced Studio Art Programs

Conte Community Arts Gallery

For the Frist Art Museum’s seventh biennial Young Tennessee Artists exhibition, works by approximately thirty students will be selected by a panel of local professionals. In keeping with the range and depth of submissions to the previous six juries, the art created by these students show how artistic processes continue to evolve, and invite engagement from those curious about the world. In a time when respect for youth voices has become a front-page topic, this exhibition reflects not only the Frist Art Museum’s ongoing efforts  to promote youth talent, but also its commitment to celebrating how young people solve problems, impart meaning, transform topics, and integrate new media with classical materials to help us see our world in fresh ways. Advanced Placement and International Baccalaureate programs encourage ambitious students to expand their conceptual thinking and enhance their technical skills through the visual arts, and 2018 Young Tennessee Artists will provide a glimpse of the best two-dimensional work from both urban and rural areas across the state.

Organized by Rosemary Brunton, Frist Art Museum educator for community engagement

Here are the selected artists included in this exhibition, listed by region:

Olivia Lewis, Hamblen County High School East, Morristown
Zoe McDaniel, Hamblen County High School East, Morristown
Nate Steward, Hamblen County High School East, Morristown
Cristobal Tellez-Sosa, Hamblen County High School East, Morristown

Anne Blackburn, Harpeth Hall Upper School, Nashville
Jared Boston, Hume-Fogg High School, Nashville
Jessica Cardona, Nashville School of the Arts, Nashville
Savanna Cucchiara, Central High School, Murfreesboro
Everett Delaney, Father Ryan High School, Nashville
Lizzy Gaviria, Hume-Fogg High School, Nashville
Nancy Henin, Hume-Fogg High School, Nashville
Webb Hunt, Montgomery Bell Academy, Nashville
Mary Johnson, Harpeth Hall Upper School, Nashville
Ian Marshall, Hume-Fogg High School, Nashville
Hannah Middleton, Central High School, Murfreesboro
Birdie Pearse, Centennial High School, Franklin
Zoe Spain, Hillsboro High School, Nashville
Katie Taylor, Hume-Fogg High School, Nashville
Dayton Upchurch, Montgomery Bell Academy, Nashville
Heidi Viall, Hume-Fogg High School, Nashville
Madison Weathers, Hume-Fogg High School, Nashville

Marie-Pia Bonnot, Lausanne Collegiate School, Memphis
Camille Campbell, Overton High School, Memphis
Natalie Eslami, Lausanne Collegiate School, Memphis
Kyla Evans, Overton High School, Memphis
Arely Herrera, Overton High School, Memphis
Diamond Liggins, Power Center Academy High School, Memphis
Jenny Rogers, Lausanne Collegiate School, Memphis
Solbok Yi, Lausanne Collegiate School, Memphis


Advanced Placement is a registered trademark of the College Board. International Baccalaureate is a registered trademark of the IB Organization. The institutions were not involved in the production of and do not endorse this exhibition.


US Bank

Presenting Sponsor

Click here to go back to the top of the page

Sorry, this image is copyrighted

For more information about this notice, see our Terms of Use.